Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: Elisa Warrner of Bitten

Photo by anitapeppers at morgueFile.com

Photo by anitapeppers at morgueFile.com

Spoiler alert! This post contains information about my short story titled, Bitten. If you have not already read this story then click the link below before reading on. https://justinaluther.wordpress.com/2014/06/16/bitten/

Elisa Warrner welcomes me into her suburban home and offers me a seat. She smiles, dark circles rimming her eyes. Toys were strewn across the floor. “I apologize for the mess, I haven’t had a chance to clean.”

“How is Maddie doing?” “Maddie is healing. I brought her home yesterday.” She takes a deep breath and begins to cry. She excuses herself for a moment, returning with a glass of water. “I want her home, but at the same time I feel so out of my depth. Her wounds were so deep. I want her where people know what they’re doing to care for her.” Her lower lip quivers. “Five weeks in the hospital was enough, though.”

“Why was she in the hospital that long?”

“Maddie’s wounds were severe and there were complications. Also, she had to be treated as though she had been exposed to rabies. The dog that bit her was a stray whose previous owner hadn’t kept her current on her vaccinations.” She begins to shake. “Because we didn’t know what Rosie had been exposed to, Maddie being infected wasn’t a chance anyone was willing to take.”

“Do you know who the dog’s old owner is?”

“Her cheeks flush, her knuckles whitening as she clutches her glass. “I don’t. I was informed she had attacked several children, but instead of putting her down her owner released her.”

“Will you try to press charges?”

“No. It wouldn’t change what Maddie had to go through.” A tear escapes her eye. “If I’m caught up in seeking vengeance, it won’t help me be here for her.”

“What did Maddie go through?”

“She had over fifty stitches. She had four shots in treatment for possible rabies exposure. She was treated for a sudden mystery infection. Beyond that, she hasn’t slept through the night since the attack. She wakes up—” her voice breaks, “screaming.”

“Where has her dad been through all this?”

“My ex-husband is tuned out; business as usual, because business is his usual.”

“How does he feel about Rosie being his dog?”

She shakes her head. “He’s embarrassed and angry. He hasn’t seen Maddie since the attack.” She holds back tears when we hear a cry from the back room. “Excuse me.” After a moment, she returns with a whimpering Maddie; the healing wounds on her cheek and neck glaringly visible as she looks at me. “I couldn’t leave her alone.”

“What would you say to your husband if you could?”

A tear escapes her eye and falls onto Maddie’s curls. “That I forgive him and Maddie needs him.”

“What would you say to Rosie’s owner?” She looks at the child in her lap. “That I need to forgive him, but it’ll take time.”

“Final question, what do you want for Maddie’s future?”

She thinks, a smile lighting her eyes. “I want her to sleep through the night, and to love dogs.”

 

This entry was posted in Character Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: Elisa Warrner of Bitten

  1. JMC813 says:

    What a creative writing idea. Cliffhanger story with interview format closure. Awesome and unique.

    Like

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

