Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: Princess Leighahna of Arising.

Photo by GaborFromHungary at morgueFile.com

Photo by GaborFromHungary at morgueFile.com

Spoiler alert! This post contains information about my short story titled, Arising. If you have not already read this story then click the link below before reading on.

https://justinaluther.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/arising-4/

I am lead by armed guards into the castle. Queen Leighahna, of Naltra is on the steps of her throne talking to two young boys.

“But Mama!” They say.

“Hush. You have lessons today. Riding will wait.”

A woman leads them away.

Looking to me Queen Leighahna smiles, small lines appearing at her eyes, the silken blue fabric of her cloak billowing as she greets me. “I didn’t realize knowledge of our history had traveled so far. We shall begin your—interview.” She takes to her throne and I sit on the steps.

“I’d like to interview King Harcue as well. Is that possible?”

“No.” She sighs. “Harcue died in battle a decade ago. His desire was to rule, through conquer or through marriage, every land he saw. Ultimately the weapons he created were more than he could handle.”

“Why did you marry Harcue after he attacked your nation?”

“To do otherwise would have cost too many innocent lives.” She wipes away a tear. “When I left my home I believed I was proving I was capable of ruling. I did not realize where that decision would lead.”

“One reader asked, ‘Why did you feel that you had to go seek aid for your kingdom in secret?’ ”

“I believed if I could bring aid to my nation my father would see me as a cable ruler.” Her gaze falls to the floor. “I was naïve.”

“Why didn’t he want you to rule?”

A smile appears. “But he did, from the moment of my birth. He would reward servants for having disagreements so I might learn to rule fairly between warring factions. He trained me to recognize a lie by the increase of pulse.”

“Readers question why you didn’t wonder about being let into the castle so easily.”

“I had been greatly sheltered, a matter my father apologized for as he died in my arms the day of my wedding.” Pursing her lips, she wipes away her tears. “I thought he had been entertaining offers of marriage from Naltra, when in reality he had been refusing them. I believed I had been promised to the second prince, and Naltra’s rulers, while not our closest allies, could be trusted in the face of what seemed to threaten us both.”

“How have you ruled Naltra when the people hate your homeland?”

“When I came to this land, the people believed my father was a brutish king who wanted to murder them in their beds, a complete lie.” She takes a deep breath. “When he died there was no longer reason to hate the ‘idiot princess.’ I opened schools and often taught in them myself. They learned to read, to write, and to think for themselves. Once they knew my heart, they accepted me as their queen.”

“One reader asked if you were in love with anyone else when you had to marry Harcue.”

She shakes her head. “I was blessed in avoiding such heartache.”

“Have you remarried since Harcue’s passing?”

Her gaze trails off, a smile curling her lips. “No.”

“Who rules Altrour now?”

“I appointed my cousin when Harcue passed. Although I’d take pride in ruling both lands, I know I could not give sufficient attention to both. Naltra is a land still deeply afflicted by the pain of the past. I’m where I’m needed when I’m here.”

“Will your children someday rule Altrour?”

She shakes her head. “That is my greatest dream, but first they must prove they are not their father.”

Tweet: http://ctt.ec/Up268+

 

Thank you so much for reading, and for all the wonderful questions you asked Leighahna.To see her board on Pinterest, click here:
http://www.pinterest.com/justinaluther/things-queen-leighahna-likes/

Want to know what’s going on in my imagination before the rest of the blogging world? Like my Facebook page! http://www.facebook.com/authorjustinaluther

This entry was posted in Character Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: Princess Leighahna of Arising.

  1. I really liked this. It was quite clever how you started off this interview like it was real 🙂 She definitely sounds like a very strong and independent woman. I’m glad Harcue died so she wasn’t forced to endure him. She definitely sounds compassionate for her people and her country. Princesses were often nothing more than chattel, used to unite countries and bring peace. I hope she finds love someday 🙂 Not sure if you know this, but Tsar Nicholas’ II wife, Alix of Hesse, was greatly disliked by Russians. I’m actually not that sure of the reason now. But it helped contribute to the fall of the monarchy in Russia, especially since she had to rule while her husband was out fighting. They actually loved each other, one of the few royal couples united by romance. Anyway, I think Naltra’s dislike of Leighahna makes the story seem more realistic.

    Like

    • Thank you very much! What an interesting historical fact. I tried to make this as realistic as possible, and fit with historical realities, while maintaining a fantasy feel. I have to admit, since I don’t usually write fantasy, I was a little stumped when I first started writing this interview. I’m very glad you liked it. (-:

      Like

  2. crimsonprose says:

    Couldn’t resist returning the visit. I like what you’ve done with this. The structure works well. It’s a great way to get back-story across. Knocks the pants off the usual thinly disguised exposition.

    Like

    • Thank you. (-: I really appreciate that. I love using these interviews as a way to engage my readers and make them feel a part of the story. It’s so much fun. Thanks for visiting! I hope to see you again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. fantastic interview! great pic!

    Like

  4. Harry Daniel says:

    Absolutely brilliant idea and excellent in its execution.

    Like

  5. MissTiffany says:

    This is such a clever way to get to know your characters and their histories! You carry it out flawlessly. I might have to try this myself. 🙂 Leighana sounds like a strong woman and a wonderful queen. She’s gone through a lot.

    Like

  6. S.C. Hickman says:

    Before I even get off the ground let me say that just here I would want to see the complete details as in a painting of the castle, what your characters notices (i.e., descriptions of the armed guards, the road, the farm yards, the path to the castle, the castle walls, the towers, the gates, the people in the castle court yard, the way the Queen looks, her clothing, raiment, jewelry, all the intricate aspects of the life around her as she is lead into the presence of this Queen) :

    “I am lead by armed guards into the castle. Queen Leighahna, of Naltra is on the steps of her throne talking to two young boys.”

    Instead you just drop her right there in front of the queen with no description beyond the base or minimal outlay to start the dialogue. Does this make sense?

    The dialogue is fine… great in fact, but there is no life around it, no action, people bustling about, cranky soldiers or officials being bored, or quirky street urchins ogling at the new comer… 🙂

    Like

  7. A very clever way to write an interview with a character. I love how you started it as well, makes it much more realistic when you compare it to the usual Q&As you often see.

    Like

    • Thank you. (-: I’m glad you enjoyed it. I try to do one for every story I write. It’s a great way to connect with readers and let them know I appreciate them taking the time to read.

      Like

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

