Triggered

Photo by Kevin_P at morguefile.com

Photo by Kevin_P at morguefile.com

My shirt suctions to my skin as icy raindrops beat upon me. I watch my sister, Aida, as she sets on his front porch toying with her makeup. My pulse plays on my eardrums and I duck behind the hedge as his car’s headlights cut the curtain of water and pull into the driveway. Shielding my eyes, I wipe my tears as Carson runs to her.

I reach back and feel the .22 caliber pistol where it sits in my waistband.

Lightning splits the sky and Aida screams as thunder vibrates the air.

When they go inside I slip from my hiding place and peek into the front window. How could Carson do this to me? We’ve been together for three years!

Aida sits on his couch, curling her feet beneath her and smiling. When he turns his back, she pulls her shirt so her shoulder is bared.

My nails dig into the paint on his windowsill. I slip around to the back door. As I reach for the knob my stomach flips and a low growling catches my ears through the rain. I find Pepper, Carson’s pit-bull mix, standing behind me with her ears flattened.

“Easy girl, it’s just me.” I extend my hand and lower to one knee.

Pepper steps forward and sniffs, giving a wag of approval.

The stench of wet dog and the stiffness of her fur against my fingers calms me. “It’ll all be okay, girl.” For a moment I consider leaving the gun outside.

When another bolt splits the sky I see my reflection in the kitchen window. My stomach is hanging over my jeans, my thighs are as big as elephant feet, and my cheeks look like I’m storing nuts for the winter. I pick up a rock and begin to hurl it, but stop when I remember why I’m here. “You always knew he’d cheat on you.” My tears mix with the rain. “Aida can’t get away with this.”

I take off my sneakers and slip into the dark kitchen. The warmth in the air fights the chill in my skin.

They’re sitting on the couch together, their backs turned to me. My hand slips to the .22.

“I won’t tell Samantha, if you won’t.” Aida laughs, flipping her hair.

Carson coughs. “Where would the fun be in that?”

Aida scoots closer to him, leaning across his lap for something on the armrest.

“This music is really distracting,” she says as the air goes quiet.

“You don’t like it? It took me two hours to choose.”

Aida lays her hand on his shoulder.

I run my fingers through my hair and square my shoulders. “I think you chose nicely, Carson.”

They jump and I grin. Their looks of surprise warm my heart.

“Baby!” He stands, inching away from Aida. “What are you doing here?”

“Yikes sis! You look like a dirty, wet sponge.” She purses her lips, sucking in her cheeks. “That’s no way to go out in public.”

I take a deep breath and begin to shake, her comment bringing back years of cruelty.

“Baby,” Carson frowns, grabbing a blanket from the back of the couch, “you’re shaking.” He wraps it around my shoulders. “How long,” he clears his throat, “were you standing there?”

I let the blanket drop to the floor. “Why are you two here alone?”

“Baby, you shouldn’t be asking me questions this close to—”

Aida smirks. “Carson wanted me to come over.”

It’s as if the world stops and I’m watching myself through someone else’s eyes. I leap for Aida and take a fistful of her hair.

She whimpers for Carson and claws at my face. Blood fills the field of vision of my right eye.

“Samantha!” Carson wraps his arms around my waist and yanks me away.

I open my fist and Aida’s hair drifts to the floor. “How could you, Carson?” I wrestle free of his arms. “Why with her?”

Aida rubs her head. “Are you psychotic?”

“Baby,” he raises his hands, “this isn’t what you think.”

Aida laughs and I reach for her, but Carson grabs my wrists.

“We’re planning you’re birthday party, Baby!”

My mouth drops open, heat rising in my cheeks.

“You actually asked me here to plan her birthday party?”

Carson’s grip tightens as Aida nears. “That’s not funny, Aida.”

I recognize the rage in her eyes. “Why are you here, sis?”

She smiles at Carson, wrapping her arms around me. “I’m planning a surprise of my own.” She giggles and hugs me tight, whispering, “It’s only a matter of time before you lose him.” She kisses my cheek and grins. “Way to spoil his surprise, sis.”

“See, Baby? I love you, okay? I’d never cheat on you.” He laughs. “Especially not with her. Are you okay, Aida?”

I wrench my wrists away from him as she rubs her head.

“That’s nothing compared to what she did when we were kids.” She pouts, looking up at him from beneath her lashes.

“What I did?” I can practically feel the smoke pouring from my ears. “All I ever did was try to protect you!”

Aida rolls her eyes. “Does your jealousy protect me in some way?”

“Ladies!” Carson steps between us. “How about we all cool down?”

I shove him out of the way. “So I was jealous? So what! Who was there for you when Mom left? You always told me I was worthless because we couldn’t share clothes! Who does that?”

“Samantha! Is that a—” His voice breaks.

I spin around, remembering the .22 at my waist. “I only wanted—” I reach back to find the gun gone.

Carson raises his hands, his eyes widening.

“You were there.” Aida says, readying the gun to fire and stepping back. “There stealing Dad’s attention and pretending to be some saintly rock. Because of you Dad never thought I was good enough. And now he chooses you over me too?”

The gunshot drowned out the thunder.

Thanks so much for reading y’all! Is there anything you’d like to ask Samantha? If so, leave your question in a comment and you might just get it asked and answered. This story was inspired by When Readers Write’s Blah Buster topic of Insecurity. To read more Blah Busters click here.

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Triggered

  1. Adan Ramie says:

    Oh, I like that ending! Aida’s attitude reminds me of someone I used to know.
    Great story, Justina.

    Like

  2. wlloydjr says:

    Craziness!!! This is some Jerry Springer drama!!lol jk Why did their mom leave? How long has she known her sister has been sleeping with Carson? I don’t think planning a birthday would cause someone to want to commit murder towards their sibling, so Aida must have been doing this for a while. If Carson is alive, how’d she find out? I loved this piece makes me wonder about these sister’s past.

    Like

  3. This story was really great. Not only was the prose beautiful, but the story was great, and once I started reading I couldn’t stop. I realize that’s a cliche phrase, but it’s true XD I love descriptions of the setting, and the intro on this one was awesome. I read it twice because it was so pretty, lol. I wasn’t expecting the twist at the end. Although is Samantha still alive at the end of this story? I thought it was Aida that stole her gun and shot her. Or did she shoot Carson?

    I’m a bit confused on the relationship between Aida and Samantha as it concerns their parents. The mom left, and Samantha helped raise Aida. Their dad never thought Aida was good enough. Samantha was jealous of Aida because she was thin and got boys easily? That seemed to be implied.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m very glad you enjoyed it. You are correct, Aida did get the gun and shoot someone. (Just who she shot will remain my secret until Monday.)
      You seem to understand the sister’s basic relationship. Since Samantha was in the ‘mother’ roll she brought the gun to scare Aida and teach her a lesson. (Okay, so it’s a twisted mother roll, but it’s laced with the immature jealousy of broken sisters.)
      I really am glad you enjoyed it. (-: This story wasn’t one that was easy to write for some reason.
      Do you have any questions for Samantha?

      Like

      • 1. Does Samantha date a lot of jerks, or is Carson her first one?
        2. Did her family shame her for being overweight?
        3. Does she have other siblings or is Aida her only one?
        4. Did she and Aida become closer as adults or more distant?
        5. Has she had any contact with her mother since she left. Has she decided to never see her again even if her mother comes back into her life?
        6. What was it about Carson that made her fall in love, assuming she’s in love.
        7. How long were she and Carson dating?
        8. Assuming she and Carson are alive after the gun shot, is she going to stay with him or break up?
        9. If she’s single, has she dated anyone recently?

        Guess I had a lot of questions for her XD Looking forward to the answers 🙂

        Like

      • Well one question I can answer now, as it was in the story. They’ve been together for 3 years. (-: I’ll try to work the rest of your questions into my interview, though. (-:

        Like

      • My bad XD I was so into the story I must have missed it :$

        Like

      • haha No worries. I had to go back and check to make sure I hadn’t edited it out. Most of the story was written/edited yesterday, so it’s a little blurry now.

        Like

    • Her interview is posted now.

      Like

  4. faybook says:

    Nicely done! I’m intrigued; was Carson really planning her b-day party or was that just a convenient lie?
    Also, there seemed to be the suggestion that Samantha was pregnant, or was I just imagining that?
    I liked your pacing, very intense! Just an excellent story!

    Like

    • The pregnancy is one question I can answer now. Samantha has always been a ‘big girl’ and disliked herself for it because of the torturing of her sister. She’s not pregnant, she was just looking at her reflection, and perhaps being overly critical of it. (-:
      I’ll be sure to ‘ask’ her your other question. Thanks so much for reading and for your kind comment! I’m really glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh woow you are an amazing writer!!! I am now an avid follower and I cannot wait to read more of your work …keep them coming!

    Like

  6. Your description did a great job creating the scene in my mind; almost felt like I was there watching. Well written!

    Like

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

