Bookshelf Tag

Photo by click at morguefile.com

Photo by click at morguefile.com

Hello, everyone! Normally I only post once a week, but I was nominated to do this ‘Bookshelf Tag’ by the one and only Paper Butterfly. Check out her blog by clicking here. It is wonderful.

I also want to say a HUGE thank you to everyone that ‘liked,’ commented on, read, or followed my blog! You guys are amazing. As a girl who has only ever wanted to be a novelist, the support means so much.

THE RULES For ‘The Bookshelf Tag’:
Answer the following questions about books, and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.

1) Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

I have not read The Fault in Our Stars, or If I Stay, because of this. I don’t cry easily, but from everything I’ve been told I’ll need a few boxes of tissues for these. I have to read them on days when I’m not wearing makeup. ha

2) Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, by Robert Lois Stevenson, was the first Science Fiction I ever read. It’s generally classified under sever genres, though.

3) Find a book that you want to reread.

I really want to reread Nefertiti: Queen of Egypt. Daughter of Eternity, by Michelle Moran, I love her style and the detail in her work. I’m also a sucker for anything about ancient Egypt. I find it fascinating and she more than did it justice in this book.

4) Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t?

Honestly? No. I’m pretty good at deciding if I’ll like something before I read it or not.

5) If your house was burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

I adore books but no book is worth risking my life over. I can always get another copy.

6) Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I adore Dickens’s work. Every time I see this book it brings back my fondest Christmas memories.

7) Find a book that has inspired you the most.

There are many books that have inspired me, but no one book comes to mind other than the Bible. Laugh if you’d like, but it’s true. Beyond that, I’d say I get more inspiration from being in a bookstore or library. I love to be surrounded by the works of others who have achieved the dream I’m chasing.

8) Do you have any autographed books?

I have at least six. Some form DiAnn Mills, one from Jerry B. Jenkins, and a few more that escape my mind at the moment.

9) Find the book that you have owned the longest.

The King’s Equal by Katherine Patterson. I have long loved this book. The story is sweet and simple. It pulled me into a world I continue to want to visit again from time to time.

10) Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

The author is Nicholas Sparks. I read A Walk to Remember when I was ten and have read it several times since. I didn’t want to read it, but a friend had recommended it to me, and my mom found a copy left in the desk she had been given. I decided to give it a shot.

I now Nominate:

E.L Wicker

Damyanti

Naomi Harvey

Donna L.H. Smith

Ashli Ferguson

Thanks so much for reading! Check back tomorrow for my response to The ‘My Writing Process Blog Tour.’ Wondering what I normally post to this blog?  Then check out my latest story, Triggered

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bookshelf Tag

  1. mihrank says:

    Kindly support me on Facebook Fanpage. Appreciate if you could please ‘like’ my page :

    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mihran-Kalaydjian-Piano-Melodies/551764811595468

    Like

  2. Stephy83 says:

    I love reading these! I love reading about which books people enjoy more than reading about books x

    Like

  3. emmawicker says:

    Thank you!! I accept, how exciting! Great post, I also want to read ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ but haven’t for the same reason.

    Like

  4. Thanks for doing this! I enjoy reading posts like this ^^

    I try to avoid things that I know are going to make me cry or be upset. Although movies and video games seem to have a more profound effect on me emotionally than books. Not sure how that works or why I write angst when I have a hard time reading it XD I had to stop watching anime for this reason. The last one I watched turned me into a depressed hermit for about a week :/

    Oh, I didn’t know you were Christian. Me too actually 😀

    I just looked up “The King’s Equal.” It sounds kind of like a fairy tale story? I went through a huge Grimm’s Fairy Tale phase at like 8-9. My mom bought the book at her college bookstore, and gave it to me. It had like 400+ pages, and I took it everywhere. The cover got really beat up XD Shame I don’t have it anymore 😦 I don’t know what happened to it :/

    I totally agree with you on #5. No material possession is that important to risk my life over. My cats and husband, yes, anything I own, no. Although if it was safe enough I would take my laptop. I need to back everything up XD

    I read Dr. Jekyl and Mr Hyde too. I think it was required reading for 9th grade honors English. I never made the connection that it was sci-fi. I guess it is. Not sure why I didn’t realize it till now, lol. That would make it my first sci-fi book XD I went through a sci-fi phase from 15-18. Ray Bradbury and Orwell were my favorites 😀

    Nefertiti: Queen of Egypt. Daughter of Eternity sounds like it’s historical fiction? I went through a huge Pearl S. Buck phase. She was a missionary in China, so she wrote historical fiction about ancient China. I loved it. I’m not even sure why. I just did. I added Nefertiti to my wish list on Amazon. It looks really good from the reviews ^^

    Like

    • Yup. (-: I am a Christian. God has done some amazing things in my life. It’s why everything I write is clean.

      The King’s Equal is a fairytale. I don’t know why they never made it into a movie.

      Michelle Moran is an AMAZING author. I adore her work.

      I’m really glad you enjoyed this. Thank you for tagging me!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Writer’s resources and Memes | kyrosmagica

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

