Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: Jayda of The Cabin

Photo by lisafanucchi at morguefile.com

Photo by lisafanucchi at morguefile.com

*Spoiler Alert!!!* This post contains infromation about my story The Cabin. If you haven’t read this story yet, click here.

I slide into the booth of a country diner across from Jayda, the sunlight glittering off a diamond ring on her left hand. Black bags hang beneath her eyes as she makes an effort to stifle a yawn. “I’m sorry.” She shakes her head. “It’s been a long week.” Jayda says as her chin quakes.

“Thank you for speaking with me.” I gesture to her hand. “Are congratulations in order?”

Her eyes sparkle for a moment but the shine quickly fades. She toys with the ring. “Percy and I are engaged. He proposed that night at the cabin.” She swallows.

“Did Francie know he’d be there?”

“Yes. She—” her voice cracks, “helped Percy plan his proposal.” She takes a sip of hot tea as her shoulders begin to shake.

“How sweet of her! I’d love to include her in this interview. Do you think she’d join us?”

Jayda shakes her head. “She’s in the hospital.” Her gaze falls to her ring again.

“What happened to her?”

“She—” her nostrils flare slightly as she closes her eyes, “cut herself while she was trying to get kindling for the fire.”

“And that put her in the hospital?”

She gulps, nodding.

“Is that why she screamed?”

Jayda rubs her arms vigorously, looking away. “That freaky cabin would make anyone scream. I don’t know why Percy listened to her about that place.”

“Where is Percy? I’d love to add him to this conversation.”

She watches me as her hands ball into fists, her eyes mirroring a struggle in her mind. “He’s with her, oaky?” Anger shoots from her eyes. “Are you happy now? My best friend tried to kill herself! She slit her wrists.”

I scramble out of the booth after her as she bolts from the diner.  “What happened? If she helped him plan it, then wasn’t she happy for you?”

She stops short as I get between her and her car. “No, okay? Francie lied to me. She helped him plan it because she wanted to ruin it. She’s sick! Is that what you want to hear?” She shoves me out of her way.

“What do you mean she’s sick?”

Her shoulders droop as she leans against the door. “Francie is Percy’s cousin, his aunt’s granddaughter. That’s why they broke up. They didn’t know they were related when they first met and he never told me because he was embarrassed. She never told me because she fell in love and couldn’t let go. Francie is my best friend, so he asked her to help him. She picked the cabin because she knows I hate it and she thought it would make me say no.”

“Why did she hurt herself?”

“She wouldn’t tell me, but if you want my guess, it’s because she thinks it’ll help her keep him.” She sighs. “She needs my help. I should get to the hospital.”

 

Thank you so much for reading, and an extra HUGE thank you to everyone that asked a question. Want to know more about Jayda? Check out her pin-board here. Want to discuss this interview? Check out, and follow if you’d like, my Google+ page and leave your comments not only for me, but for other readers! You can also ask any other questions I didn’t cover in this post.  

 

This entry was posted in Character Interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: Jayda of The Cabin

  1. Wow, just wow. I honestly wasn’t expecting all that. Are you planning to do anything with these characters in the future? I feel like I need more of this.

    Like

    • Thank you! I would be happy to do another story with them. I have several I need to do sequels to, so it might take some time, but I certainly will! If you’d like to help me remember, you can leave a comment on my requests page. Thank you so very much for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. waynemullane says:

    I enjoyed reading this. I liked the way the character who was asking the questions was observing Jayda’s reactions. It gave real depth to her answers.

    Like

  3. Noirfifre says:

    Wow, poor Francie. I hope she finds peace.

    Like

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

