Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: ___________ of The Rival

Photo by click at morguefile.com

Photo by click at morguefile.com

*****SPOILER ALERT!!!!***** This post contains information about my story The Rival. If you haven’t read this story, click here before reading on.

As Aurora’s apartment building comes into view, I see a hoard of people swarming the pavement below. Cop cars lining the sidewalk. I quickly park and make my way into the crowed. I find myself surrounded by a wall of faces, but locate Mark Blackright. Seeing me, he gulps, his eyes darting to the police chief as Mark clutches his sobbing son.

“Where is Aurora?”

“Excuse me, sir,” Chief of Police Samuel says, “are you Mrs. Blackright’s husband?”

Mark nods. “Is Aurora okay?”

“We believe she is. The women holding her haven’t made any demands, do you know why they’re holding her?”

Mark’s son whimpers.

“I wish I did,” Mark says.

“Chief, do you know—”

“What the heck?” The chief’s eyes widen as he frowns at me. “No interviews! Get her out of here!”

I fight to hold my pen and paper as I’m dragged away. I watch the scene and after a minute Mark finds me.

“I couldn’t stay,” he nods to his son, “little man was getting too worked up.”

The boy sniffles and hides his face.

Mark chews on the inside of his lip, his gaze flitting in all directions.

“What do you know about what’s going on up there?”

He takes a deep breath glancing over his shoulder. “Open the door.” He nods to my car.
Frowning, I do as he asks and he sets his son inside telling him to lay down.

When the door is closed, he sighs. “You have to know I’m not part of this. Their games are their own now.”

“What do you mean?”

“I—” he touches the car window, “Ronda, and Jenny, had another way to get the money if I couldn’t steal it from Aurora.”

“Why are you telling me this, and not the police?”

“Jenny is dating Chief Samuel’s nephew.”

“What was the plan?”

He runs a hand through his hair, casting his other in an arch behind him. “You’re looking at it.”

“Did you know what they were going to do?”

He shakes his head adamantly. “No.” He closes his eyes and rubs them. “But I did help them do it. I gave Jenny the key.” He raises his hands as my mouth falls open. “I had forgotten about it. It was months ago. Before Aurora and I were married, before I fell in love with her.”

“If Ronda was released, why are they doing this now?”

“If there’s one thing Ronda can be counted on for, it’s revenge when she feels slighted. I should never have forgotten that.” He scoffs, pursing his lips. “I shouldn’t have burned her threatening letters. I just didn’t want him,” he gestures to the car, “to find them. The last one came a couple of months ago. I thought she had cooled off, and I didn’t want Aurora to worry anymore.” He rolls his eyes. “So I burned those and she found the ones I kept for the little man.”

“One reader asked if Ronda had killed her ex-boyfriend.”

The color fades from his face as a gunshot echoes in the air. “She did, when she found him holding a pillow over our son’s face.”

We watch the scene as police flood into the building. After a few moments a stretcher is taken in and then wheeled to a waiting ambulance, the occupant’s face turned away. Jenny follows it, her hands cuffed behind her.

Mark rips off through the crowd. “Aurora?” He’s stopped by an officer as he makes his way to the door. “Where is my wife?”

The officer turns Mark and guides him to a cop car to follow the ambulance as its sirens fade in the distance.

Thank you so much for reading and a HUGE thank you to everyone who asked a question! Sorry I could interview Aurora, she was a little busy. 😉 All of you are truly the best, and the reason I continue this blog. Check back next week for another story. Didn’t get your question answered this time around? visit my Google+ page and ask your question there. I’ll be sure to answer it. Want to know more about Aurora Blackright? Check out her pin board here.

This entry was posted in Character Interviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ten Questions for a Fictional Character: ___________ of The Rival

  1. Will we find out what happened to Aurora?

    Like

  2. hilaaww says:

    Wow! I need to go and read more of the back story. Very interesting!

    Like

  3. henrynora55 says:

    I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

