Ten Questions for Fictional Character: Cornelia, of Time of the Year

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo by ropable at morguefile.com

 

***Spoiler Alert!!!*** This interview contains information about a previous story. To read it, click here for Part 1, here for 2, here for 3, and here for 4.

Cornelia greets me out front of the Inn, Scout at her side. “I really appreciate your willingness to do a piece about the inn.”

The pair lead me inside and offer me a seat in the small waiting area.
She lets out a large sneeze. “I’m so sorry,” she shakes her head, wipes her nose, and fishes a bottle from her pocket. “There’s a resident cat around here now.”

“Is it Popsicle?”

She laughs. “Well, she and Agatha are a packaged deal.”

“Are you saying you now open your inn to cats and their human counterparts?”

“Not exactly. Agatha is very good with the dogs, and she’s a hard worker. So, I hired her. She takes the night shift around here, and I’m not stuck living at work through the holidays anymore.”

“Has she found somewhere to live?”

“We’re working on that. Mr. Garber, the owner of the general store down the road, is moving out of the apartment above the store to go live with his kids, and she’s going to move in there as soon as he’s out.” Scratching Scouts head, she smiles. “On warm days it’s close enough for her to walk to work, and when the weather is bad I can pick her up.”

“What made you decide to take in a complete stranger?”

She shrugs. “I felt completely peaceful about it. And she isn’t a complete stranger. Mr. Garber knows her, and I trust him. As I mentioned before, she’s also amazing with the dogs. If she were bad they’d tell me. Dogs can smell a bad person from ten miles off.”

“Were you ever worried you might not be able to trust her?”

“I didn’t know her well enough to have a reason not to trust her. I mean the only money she had in the world, she was willing to give me for a blanket to keep from freezing. She didn’t just ask me for it, even though it would have been okay, she wanted to pay her way in whatever way she could.”

“What about your sister? Throughout your story we saw your refusal to speak with her until Henry’s ordeal caused you to need her. Have you two kept talking?”

“Speaking of Henry, he’s fine if you were wondering. My sister was able to send him home today. He turned out to be allergic to his medication, so it’s being changed. As for my sister, yes, we are still talking. We aren’t back to where we were, and I don’t know if we ever will be, or if we’ll be stronger than ever before. I guess it just depends on what we’re both willing to work for.”

“How long ago did you two stop talking?”

“I didn’t keep track. No matter what year it was, it was too long.”

“At the end of your story it came out the rifts was caused by a man. Is that correct?”

“Not a man, really, more of a rat made out of garbage.” She scratches her cheek. “We dated for three months while I was still in college. We had both grown up around her and somehow never met until college. What I didn’t know was that on a weekend home he had met my baby sister. He kept dating both of us for a while without either of us finding out. Makes me wish we had been the types to gab about boys. Anyway, he ended up dumping me and marrying her.”

“Do you know why?”

“Nope, and I don’t care. Believe it or not, I’m the lucky one in this.” She shakes her head with a sigh. “My sister has to stand strong with two kids crying for Daddy while his lawyer tries to take everything in the world from her. And our ex just stands there and smiles. My sister is amazing.”

“Final question, if there’s one thing you could go back and change, what would it be?”

For a moment she thinks, her eyes slowly traveling the waiting room. “If I could change anything I think it would be not seeing my niece and nephew when they were really little. Being angry stole that time with them from me. But it’s soon to be a new year, and I can’t wait to see what it holds. Happy New Year, everyone. ”
I hope you’ve enjoyed the final character interview of 2015. This year has flown by, and I hope you’ve all loved every second of it. Thank you so much for the time you’ve spent here in my imagination. I’ve loved being able to share my work with all of you. Thank you so much for reading and be sure to check back on Monday, January 11 for a brand new story! Have a happy, safe, blessed New Year everyone!

 

This entry was posted in Character Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

