A Peek Behind the Curtain: Hobbies

0054

Photo by sophisticat at morguefile.com

Hi, everyone! I thought it might be fun from time to time to do a post about my real life, instead of just the worlds in my imagination. I don’t know how often I’ll do these, but I’m hoping you’ll enjoy them all the same.

As the title implies, this post is about what I enjoy doing outside of writing(which I do love). Like most writers, I enjoy reading but that’s more akin to breathing as far as I’m concerned. Too much a part of my soul to call it a hobby.

I love working with my hands. Anything where I can take different elements and combine them to make something beautiful or useful. Or both, if things go well. My dad and I once built a stand for my turtle’s aquarium, which ended up being more functional than attractive, and it made me long to take a woodworking class. Something I still hope to do in the future.

I love to look at the way something is put together, either a piece of furniture or an item of clothing, and try to reverse engineer it in my mind. That’s the way I made a set of pillows for my mom one year! ha No classes, just figuring out what made the most sense. Trying to understand our crazy sewing machine was the worst of it. I finally had to toss the directions and just push buttons and turn knobs until I got it working.

I’ve tried my hand at the arts as well. I can’t paint or draw to save my life, but I do enjoy sculpting a bit. I’m next to terrible at it and all the same it’s so much fun. By far my favorite art is that of cooking, though. Seriously! I spent all of Sunday and most of Saturday cooking this and that.

I studied kitchen skills by binge watching cooking shows. I’d consume Food Network for hours. I was young, but so curious. Just itching to try out the techniques I saw the chefs using. So, one day, at the tender age of 12, I asked my dad if I could take over the job of cooking for our family. He was willing to let me try, but he was terrified to do the math of me plus knives and a stove. You see, I’m very clumsy and all my dad could envision was a missing digit, or an oil burn. Thankfully, that didn’t happen. And thank the good Lord I haven’t given anyone food poisoning in all the years since. Not every dish I make is perfect and I’m still learning every day, but I just love it. Unless it’s something I’ve never done, I loath using a recipe. I prefer letting my nose tell me what a dish needs. I’ve learned over the years that if it smells nice, it’ll taste good.

Cooking at home has really been a tool I’ve had to make use of. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve battled my weight. By the age of 12 I was in women’s sizes and over 200lbs with nowhere near the height that weight medically requires. With the help of my parents, I was able to lose 80lbs. That being said, in recent times I’ve gained a bit back thanks to foods of convenience rather than value. As I try to better my health, my favorite hobby is coming back into play. Things made at home are always healthier and tastier.

Even more than cooking, I love helping others. To make someone smile brightens my day more than anything, which is one reason I put together a healthy lifestyle group (sorry, gentlemen, it’s for ladies only this time around) on fb recently. I don’t have any sort of degree when it comes to nutrition or exercise, but I do know what I’ve learned through personal experience. One of the biggest lessons with my weight has been that I can’t do it alone. The other has been I can’t hate my body and expect to be able to take care of it.

So, in a cracked nutshell, these are the hobbies I love most. I thank you for hanging around and spending a little time in my imagination for a peek behind the curtain and I hope this has been at least a little interesting to read.

If any of my female readers are looking for a place to find health tips and body positivity, feel free to check out my group Breaking the Funhouse Mirror.

Thank you for reading! Check back next week for another new post.

 

This entry was posted in Behind the Curtain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts are wanted and welcome!

